The Steering Committee oversees and reviews the certification program. It directs modifications and improvements to the program curriculum, operation, and reviews accusations concerning inappropriate actions by certified specialists or persons seeking to be certified. The committee has authority concerning prohibiting persons from seeking certification and authority concerning punishment of certified specialists, ranging from verbal reprimand to de-certification.

Members include:
TxDOT: Tommy Smith, Miles Garrison, Ryan Barborak, Richard Izzo and Cathey Galbreath
Industry: Corey Schwarz (HMAC), Mike Brown (Texas Materials Group), Harry Bush (Vulcan Materials), Jerry Lee (Zack Burkett Company) and Brad Bradford (R.K. Hall Construction)